Introduction to Campaigns

What is a Campaign

A Campaign is a specifically designed strategy to reach your audience by serving an ad message across the web or a social platform with a specific end goal in mind, for example, brand awareness or engagement boost. 

Campaigns go through our Ad Campaign Review Process to ensure that they meet our Advertising Policies and Guidelines. Turnaround times for campaign review can fluctuate, but they are usually reviewed within one business day.

RollWorks Campaigns rely on BidIQ®, which is our proprietary AI technology powering bidding. This technology helps you to find the right visitor, at the right time, in the right place, and at the optimal price across web, social, native, and mobile devices. Our proprietary BidIQ® technology is enabled by default in your RollWorks account and incorporates learnings into future campaigns.

In addition to campaigns RollWorks offers you Advertising Playbooks that are easy to set up and manage, click here to learn more about Playbooks.

 

Types of Campaigns available by package

RollWorks offers you the following types of advertising campaigns.

Campaign Type Definition Who can access
Contact Targeting Campaign Display Web Ads by leveraging your own e-mail lists and CRM contacts to launch a campaign targeting known contacts. You can use basic imported Contact lists or Enhanced Contact Lists.

Any RollWorks package, except ABM. Advanced Advertising Add-On upgrade available.

Lookalike Targeting Campaign

Display Web Ads to unknown users that have not visited your website and that are exhibiting similar behaviors to the users who are visiting and engaging with your website.

Website Retargeting Campaign

Display Web Ads to re-engage users who have visited your website or have bounced from your website to keep your brand top of mind, with the goal to ultimately generate form-fill submission Conversions.

Account Targeting Campaigns

Display Web Ads to users in your Account Lists layering additional buyer persona attributes. These campaigns are highly customizable allowing specific audience exclusions and granular geo-targeting, however, they require a hands-on approach to maintain them up to date due to their complexity.

We strongly suggest using Account Targeting Playbooks instead.

Any RollWorks package except Free Tier, ABM, Starter (Legacy), and Standard (Legacy). Advanced Advertising Add-On upgrade available.

Facebook and Instagram Campaign

Display to prospect and re-engage users using Facebook and Instagram Ads directly in the RollWorks platform.

  • FB/IG Lookalike Targeting Campaign: find people who are similar to your website audience.
  • FB/IG Retargeting Campaign: bring back visitors who left your site without converting.

Any RollWorks package except Standard Advertising, and Advanced Advertising.

LinkedIn Campaign

Display Sponsored Content Ads on LinkedIn to reach unknown contacts in your Account Lists and Groups to drive awareness and nurture buyers with targeted messaging. Launch these LinkedIn campaigns directly within the RollWorks platform.

Any RollWorks package except Free Tier, Standard Advertising, and Advanced Advertising.

To find your current subscription, log in to RollWorks and navigate to Settings > Billing > Plans & Usage.

 

Campaign Settings

The following table includes the different Campaign Settings available to make adjustments to your RollWorks Campaigns. To confirm if these settings are available for the specific Campaign type that you want to launch, visit the specific Campaign Guide to learn more.

Campaign Setting Description Recommendations
Daily Budget

Your Daily Budget is the average amount set for your RollWorks campaign to spend per day. Some days, your campaign may see more opportunities to drive results, so RollWorks may use up to 20% more than your daily budget to show your ads more often. For example, if your daily budget is $10, we might spend up to $12 on a given day. Your Monthly Spend won't exceed your total monthly budget in any given month. Learn more here.

Don't worry about overspending. As long as your budget remains unchanged for an entire month, you won't be charged more than your set daily budget multiplied by the average number of days in a month (30.4)

Be aware that if you change your budget before the end of the month, it will restart your 30.4-day budget cap. 

Adjust this setting to optimize the goal set for your campaign based on:

  • Conversions (CPA): Target the most likely people to convert.
  • Clicks (CPC): Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks
  • Impressions (CPM): Maximize how many times your ads are shown

You can set up your Optimization strategy as 'automatic' or with a specific Target CPA, CPC, or CPM.

Learn more here.

Avoid restrictive CPA, CPC, or CPM targets that can limit ad delivery. We recommend that you gradually reduce your target by no more than 20% per edit. For example, if your campaign is currently achieving a $10 CPA and your goal is a $5 CPA, we recommend setting an $8 CPA target (80% of $10) and scaling down from there gradually rather than jumping directly to $5.

Day Parting

This is a campaign-level setting that gives you control over when your ads are displayed. You can use Day Parting to select specific days of the week that you want your ads to serve (or not to serve), and/or specific times of the day.

Day Parting is useful when you know that your ads will have a greater impact on certain days of the week or times of the day.

Learn more here.

By default, Day Parting is set as automatically run 24/7.

We recommend that you use the default Day Parting Campaign settings to let BidIQ® dynamically optimize how many times your ads appear to the same person.

 

Frequency Capping

The number of times your ads are displayed to the same person in one day. By default, your Frequency Caps are automatically optimized by BidIQ®, which processes hundreds of variables for each and every user to determine whether or not to bid, and how much, at the time of each potential impression. You may also specify your own daily Frequency Cap in a web campaign. 

Learn more here.

By default, your Frequency Caps are automatically optimized by BidIQ®, RollWorks' proprietary real-time bidding algorithm.

We strongly recommend that you use the default Frequency Capping Campaign settings to let BidIQ® dynamically optimize how many times your ads appear to the same person.

 

Advertising Settings available for Web Campaigns

Web Campaign Type Geo-targeting Frequency Capping Day Parting CPC/CPM Optimization Strategy Exclude website audiences and contact lists Ad Groups
Contact Targeting Campaigns
By Country, Region/State, City, US Zip Code
Web Retargeting Campaigns
Lookalike Targeting Campaigns

Account Targeting Campaigns

⚠️ Only available for Professional & Ultimate

 

Advertising Settings available for Social Campaigns

Social Campaign Type

Geo-targeting

Frequency Capping Day Parting CPC/CPM Optimization Strategy Exclude website audiences and contact lists Ad Groups
LinkedIn Campaigns

By Country, Region/State, City, US Zip Code

Facebook/IG Campaigns

 

Pause a Campaign

  • Log in to RollWorks and go to Advertising > Campaigns & Playbooks and click on the Campaigns tab.

pause 1.png

  • Find the campaign you want to pause and click on the campaign name.
  • The campaign details page will open, click the dropdown arrow next to Edit.
  • Click Pause.

pause.png

When you pause a campaign, you are temporarily suspending that campaign's activity. You can resume the campaign by clicking Resume. Your campaign will then resume immediately.

resume.png

  How do paused campaigns impact my budget?

Your required balance is the sum of your active campaign budgets.

Paused campaigns do count toward your required balance. This is so that when you resume, we have the credit needed to immediately resume your campaign.

If you are on pre-paid billing style, you will notice a section called Required Balance under Settings > Billing History.

 

What are AdGroups

AdGroups are a feature to break down your campaign into different subsets to serve a different set of Ads to a specific Website Audience or Contact Audience on a custom schedule.

 Good to know when you create a new campaign in RollWorks

  • You will be prompted to create at least one AdGroup for your campaign.
  • You can create as many AdGroups as you need for the same campaign.
  • You will be able to measure advertising performance for each AdGroup.
  • The budget allocated to the campaign is fluid among all AdGroups.
  • You cannot set different budget allocations for each AdGroup. If you need to allocate a specific budget to an AdGroup you will need to create a separate campaign, keeping in mind that each campaign has a $3 minimum daily budget.

For each Ad Group you create, you can customize:

  • AdGroup schedules to start and end on specific days and times.
  • AdGroup Audience to target and exclude specific people based. 
  • AdGroup Audience location to display ads in specific regions. See geotargeting options for campaigns.
  • AdGroup Ads to select specific ads relevant to this audience on the selected schedule.

Screen Shot 2021-12-30 at 3.56.15 PM.png

For example, if you're hosting a live webinar, you can launch a Website Retargeting Campaign and create an AdGroup to:

  • Select specific Ads that promote your upcoming webinar.
  • Define a custom AdGroup schedule to stop serving these ads after the Webinar starts, all while maintaining the general campaign running.
  • Define your specific AdGroup audiences:
      • Target the Website Audiences that have visited your webinar landing page and your events pages.
      • Target a Contact Audience based on an email list from previous webinar attendees.
      • Exclude a Contact Audience based on an email list of the attendees that have confirmed they will attend.
      • Exclude your Conversion Audiences for people who have submitted the form to attend the webinar.

 

Pause an AdGroup

  • Log in to RollWorks and go to Advertising > Campaigns & Playbooks and click on the Campaigns tab.
  • Find the campaign you want to pause and click on the campaign name.
  • The campaign details page will open, scroll down to the Ads tab.
  • Find the AdGroup you want to pause and hover over the three dots next to your AdGroup name
  • Click Pause.

 Once paused, the budget previously allocated to that AdGroup will move toward your other AdGroups. If you pause the only AdGroup in your campaign, the campaign will stop spending until the AdGroup is reactivated or a new AdGroup is created.

 

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Complete an AdGroup

Completing your AdGroup means that your AdGroup will reach its End Date.

  • Log in to RollWorks and go to Advertising > Campaigns & Playbooks and click on the Campaigns tab.
  • Find the campaign you want to pause and click Edit.
  • This will open the Campaign details page in edit mode.
  • Click on the AdGroup name you want to end
  • Go to
  • Select today's date as the End Date
  • Click Save.

Setting up an End Date as today will cause the AdGroup to end today.

Warning: completing an AdGroup

If you complete an AdGroup in a campaign with a single AdGroup the campaign will automatically end and be marked as completed.

 

Screen Shot 2021-12-30 at 6.09.58 PM.png

 

Exclude Audiences

If you opt to exclude an Audience from a campaign RollWorks will not display ads to people in that Audience. You can exclude Website Audiences and Contact Lists from a Campaign. 

Visit this help center article to learn how.

 

Increase Campaign reach

You can increase the size of your target audience by:

  • Including more Website Audiences, increasing your Audience Durations, and leveraging Contact Audiences to reconnect with people who haven’t visited your website recently. 
  • Use broad geo-targeting restrictions. We recommend setting up your geo-targeting no more granular than at the country or region level.
  • Include all of the recommended and supported Ad Sizes and Ad Types in your Campaign to expand your reach on available inventory. 
  • Increase your budget to align with the size of your target audience.

 

Optimize your Campaigns

You can optimize your RollWorks Campaigns by:

  • Exclude your Conversion Audiences and exclude your existing Customers to prevent displaying ads to them. Click here to learn how to exclude Conversion Audiences from your Campaign.
  • Lowering your Audience Duration to impose a hard limit on how long a visitor remains active in a Website Audience. For example, if you know that your sales cycle is generally 10 days you can lower your Audience duration to 10 days.
  • Defining your geo-targets to focus your efforts on the regions that matter to ensure that ads are only served in specific high-value locations.

 

Troubleshooting underserving campaigns

Below is a list of steps to help you troubleshoot why Campaign is not serving ads:

Issue Troubleshooting steps
Your Campaign does not have active Ads

Double-check that your campaign has active ads assigned.

Your Campaign or Ad Groups are paused

Ensure that your Campaign, Ad Groups, and Ads are not marked as paused and have been launched. If your Campaign, Ad Groups, or Ads are set as 'paused' in the RollWorks platform you will have to unpause them first to resume serving ads.

Your Campaign, Ad Groups, or Ads are paused

Ensure that your Campaign, Ad Groups, and Ads are not marked as paused and have been launched. If your Campaign, Ad Groups, or Ads are set as 'paused' in the RollWorks platform you will have to unpause them first to resume serving ads.

Your Campaign or Ad Groups start date is set in the future

Confirm the start date of your Campaign and Ad Groups. If your Campaign or Ad Groups have a start date set to begin in the future, adjust the start date to begin immediately. 

Your Campaign or Ad Groups are marked as completed 

Confirm that your Campaign or Ad Groups are not marked as completed (reached the specified end date). If your campaign is marked or Ad Group is as completed and should be serving ads, edit your Campaign or Ad Group to set an end date that is in the future.

Your Campaign or Ad Groups are marked as suspended

Confirm that your Campaign or Ad Groups are not marked as suspended (this is typically due to a billing or content issue). If they are suspended reach out to the RollWorks Customer Support team.

Your website has recently changed

Confirm that your targeted Website Audiences are still collecting visitors. If your website has changed recently, the RollWorks Pixel or your website URLs could have been affected, which can cause your Website Audiences to zero after some time. 

Your website has low traffic

If your website has low traffic, we recommend targeting your 'All Visitors' Website Audience, at least to start. The more data we are able to collect initially about your visitors' behavior as they interact with your campaign, the more we'll be able to optimize for performance later.

Your target audience is too specific

If you are targeting a very specific Website Audience with your campaign, confirm that your target visitor audience has had enough time to grow and collect visitors. If no one has visited the specific URL used to set up your target audience, we won't have anyone to serve ads.

Your ability to focus your campaign depends on your site traffic. If your total audience size is between 1,000 - 10,000 monthly unique visitors (MUV), keep the scope of your campaign more general. We recommend running specific campaigns only if you have 10,000 or more MUV.

 

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