New Campaign Creation Flow
Beginning July 2025, we have started to slowly roll out a new campaign creation process for a better user experience and added features. Some customers may not yet see this experience; therefore may have fewer settings available than described here. To get expedited access, please reach out to your Customer Success Manager. Learn more.
Bid Strategy Settings
Bid Strategy is a Campaign setting that allows you to specify a goal for an individual Campaign in the platform to determine how you want to prioritize your bidding.
In Web Campaigns, you can modify this setting to adjust your biding strategy based on the following goals:
- Conversions: Target the people most likely to convert based on your Conversion Audiences.
- Clicks: Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks.
- Impressions: Maximize how many times your ads are shown.
Once you have selected a Bid Strategies, you can:
- Leave it Automatic: We will automatically bid to maximize the goal you choose: Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions.
- Specify a target CPA, CPC, CPM: We will optimize your bids based on the Target CPA, CPC or CPM you enter while treating your Target as an upper price-per-result not to exceed. However, it's possible that some Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions may exceed this target.
Reducing target CPA, CPC, or CPM may impact campaign performance
If you are setting up a specific target as your Bid Strategy, we recommend that you gradually reduce your target by no more than 20% per edit. For example, if your campaign is currently achieving a $10 CPA and your goal is a $5 CPA, we recommend setting an $8 CPA target (80% of $10) and scaling down from there gradually rather than jumping directly to $5.
Adjust Bid Strategy Settings
The default Bid Strategy campaign setting will be 'maximize Conversions (CPA)' as long as you have already defined a Conversion Audience in the platform.
If you have not defined a Conversion Audience in the platform yet, the Bid Strategy for your Campaign will default to maximize Clicks.
If you want to adjust your Bid Strategy for a campaign:
- Go to this page or navigate to Advertising > Campaign & Playbooks.
- Click the Campaigns tab.
- Find the campaign that you want to adjust and click on the campaign name.
- Click Edit.
- Scroll down to Choose Web Settings.
- Under Bidding Settings, select one of the three Bid Strategies available:
- Conversions: Target the people most likely to convert.
- Clicks: Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks.
- Impressions: Maximize how many ads are shown.
- Enter a Bid Strategy target:
- Leave it Automatic: We will automatically bid to maximize the goal you choose: Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions.
- Specify a target: We will optimize your bids based on the Target CPA, CPC or CPM you enter while treating your Target as an upper price-per-result not to exceed. However, it's possible that some Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions may exceed this target.
- Click Save.
Bid Strategy Type | How to set it up |
---|---|
Conversions: Target most likely people to convert. |
Conversions with Automatic Target CPA If you choose 'Conversions' and leave the Target CPA blank as 'Automatic', we will automatically maximize conversions within your budget. If you enter a Target CPA value, our bidding algorithm will optimize bids to reach this Cost per Acquisition, please note the actual CPA may vary. When you enter a specific target CPA as your Bid Strategy, if your campaign is brand new or has not achieved 7 conversions over the last 14 days, your campaign will bid according to the Automatic mode until it meets this threshold. |
Clicks: Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks |
If you choose Clicks and leave the Target CPC blank as Automatic, we will automatically maximize clicks within your budget. If you set a specific Target CPC, we will optimize to reach your target Cost Per Clic, but your actual CPC may vary. |
Impressions: Maximize how many times your ads are shown |
If you choose Impressions and leave the Target CPM blank as 'Automatic', we will automatically maximize impressions within your budget. If you set a specific Target CPM, we will optimize to reach your target Cost Per Mile, but your actual CPM may vary. |