What is a Campaign?

A Campaign is a specifically designed strategy to reach your audience by serving an ad message across the web and social platforms with a specific end goal in mind, for example, brand awareness or engagement boost. 

Campaigns go through our Ad Campaign Review Process to ensure that they meet our Advertising Policies and Guidelines. Turnaround times for campaign review can fluctuate, but it should never take more than one business day.

 

What bidding technology powers RollWorks Campaigns?

RollWorks Campaigns rely on BidIQ, which is our proprietary AI technology powering RollWorks bidding. This technology helps you to find the right visitor, at the right time, in the right place, at the optimal price across web, social, native, and mobile devices. Our proprietary BidIQ technology is enabled by default in your RollWorks account and incorporates learnings into future campaigns. Learn more about BidIQ here

 

What type of Campaigns are available in RollWorks?

RollWorks supports the following campaign types:

Campaign Type Definition
Contact Targeting Campaign Leverage your own e-mail lists to launch a campaign targeting known Contact Audiences with Web Ads.

Lookalike Targeting Campaign

Display Web Ads to unknown users that have not visited your website and that are exhibiting similar behaviors to the users who are visiting and engaging with your website.

Website Retargeting Campaign

Re-engage the Website Audiences who have visited your website or have bounced from your website to keep your brand top of mind, with the goal to ultimately generate form fill submissions Conversions.

Facebook and Instagram Campaign

Prospect and re-engage users using Facebook and Instagram Ads directly in the RollWorks platform.

      • FB/IG Lookalike Targeting Campaign: find people who are similar to your website audience.
      • FB/IG Retargeting Campaign: bring back visitors who left your site without converting.
LinkedIn Campaign

Launch an Account-based campaign using LinkedIn Ads directly from the RollWorks platform to reach unknown contacts in your Account Lists to drive awareness and nurture buyers with targeted messaging.

 

Who is eligible to access RollWorks Campaigns?

Campaign Type Available to
Contact Audience Targeting Campaign All customers, including customers without a subscription.

Lookalike Targeting Campaign

All customers, including customers without a subscription.

Website Retargeting Campaign

All customers, including customers without a subscription.

Facebook and Instagram Campaigns All customers, including customers without a subscription.
LinkedIn Campaign
Available to customers with a Standard, Professional, or Ultimate subscription.

RollWorks customers with a Starter subscription can purchase the LinkedIn Connector as an Add-on to create LinkedIn Campaigns.

RollWorks customers without a subscription can purchase a RollWorks subscription package including the LinkedIn Connector. Learn more about our subscription packages on our pricing page.

 

To find your current subscription package, log in to RollWorks and navigate to Settings > Billing > Plans & Usage. If you do not have an active package you will not see 'Plans & Usage'.

 

What Campaign Settings are available?

The following table includes the different Campaign Settings available to make adjustments to your RollWorks Campaigns.

To confirm if these settings are available for the specific Campaign type that you want to launch, visit the specific Campaign Guide to learn more.

Campaign Setting Description 📝  Recommendations
Daily Budget

Your Daily Budget is the average amount set for your RollWorks campaign to spend per day. Some days, your campaign may see more opportunities to drive results, so RollWorks may use up to 20% more than your daily budget to show your ads more often. For example, if your daily budget is $10, we might spend up to $12 on a given day. Your Monthly Spend won't exceed your total monthly budget in any given month. Learn more here.

Don't worry about overspending. As long as your budget remains unchanged for an entire month, you won't be charged more than your set daily budget multiplied by the average number of days in a month (30.4)

Be aware that if you change your budget before the end of the month, it will restart your 30.4-day budget cap. 

Adjust this setting to optimize the goal set for your campaign based on:

  • Conversions (CPA): Target most likely people to convert.
  • Clicks (CPC): Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks
  • Impressions (CPM): Maximize how many times your ads are shown

You can setup your Optimization strategy as 'automatic' or with a specific Target CPA, CPC or CPM.

Learn more here.

Avoid restrictive CPA, CPC, or CPM targets can limit ad delivery. We recommend that you gradually reduce your target no more than 20% per edit. For example, if your campaign is currently achieving a $10 CPA and your goal is a $5 CPA, we recommend setting a $8 CPA target (80% of $10) and scaling down from there gradually rather than jumping directly to $5.

Day Parting

This is a campaign-level setting that gives you control over when your ads are displayed. You can use Day Parting to select specific days of the week that you want your ads to serve (or not to serve), and/or specific times of the day.

Dayparting is useful when you know that your ads will have a greater impact on certain days of the week or times of the day.

Learn more here.

By default, Day Parting is set as automatically run 24/7.

We recommend that you use the default Day Parting Campaign settings to let BidIQ® dynamically optimize how many times your ads appear to the same person.

 

Frequency Capping

The number of times your ads are displayed to the same person in one day. By default, your Frequency Caps are automatically optimized by BidIQ®, which processes hundreds of variables for each and every user to determine whether or not to bid, and how much, at the time of each potential impression. You may also specify your own daily Frequency Cap in a web campaign. 

Learn more here.

By default, your Frequency Caps are automatically optimized by BidIQ®, RollWorks' proprietary real-time bidding algorithm.

We strongly recommend that you use the default Frequency Capping Campaign settings to let BidIQ® dynamically optimize how many times your ads appear to the same person.

 

What are campaign AdGroups?

AdGroups are a feature to break down your campaign into different subsets to serve a different set of Ads to a specific Website Audience or Contact Audience on a custom schedule.

 

📝  When you create a new campaign in RollWorks:

  • You will be prompted to create at least one AdGroup for your campaign.
  • You can create as many AdGroups as you need for the same campaign.
  • You will be able to measure advertising performance for each AdGroup.
  • The budget allocated to the campaign is fluid among all AdGroups.
  • You cannot set different budget allocations for each AdGroup. If you need to allocate a specific budget to an AdGroup you will need to create a separate campaign, keeping in mind that each campaign has a $10 minimum daily budget.

For each Ad Group you create you can customize:

  • AdGroup schedules to start and end on specific days and times.
  • AdGroup Audience to target and exclude specific people based. 
  • AdGroup Audience location to display ads in specific regions.
  • AdGroup Ads to select specific ads relevant to this audience on the selected schedule.

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For example, if you're hosting a live webinar, you can launch a Website Retargeting Campaign and create an AdGroup to:

  • Select specific Ads that promote your upcoming webinar.
  • Define a custom AdGroup schedule to stop serving these ads after the Webinar starts, all while maintaining the general campaign running.
  • Define your specific AdGroup audiences:
      • Target the Website Audiences that have visited your webinar landing page and your events pages.
      • Target a Contact Audience based on an email list from previous webinar attendees.
      • Exclude a Contact Audience based on an email list of the attendees that have confirmed they will attend.
      • Exclude your Conversion Audiences for people who have submitted the form to attend the webinar.

 

How do I pause a campaign?

  • Login to RollWorks and go to 'Advertising' > 'Campaigns & Playbooks' and click on the 'Campaigns' tab.
  • Find the campaign you want to pause and click on the campaign name.
  • The campaign details page will open, click the dropdown arrow next to 'Edit'
  • Click 'Pause'

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You can resume a campaign by following the same steps above and clicking 'Resume'

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How do I pause an AdGroup within a campaign?

  • Login to RollWorks and go to 'Advertising' > 'Campaigns & Playbooks' and click on the 'Campaigns' tab.
  • Find the campaign you want to pause and click on the campaign name.
  • The campaign details page will open, scroll down to the 'Ads' tab.
  • Find the AdGroup you want to pause and hover over the three dots next to your AdGroup name
  • Click 'Pause'

 Once paused, the budget previously allocated to that AdGroup will move towards your other AdGroups. If you pause the only AdGroup in your campaign, the campaign will stop spending until the AdGroup is reactivated or a new AdGroup is created.

 

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How do I complete an AdGroup within a campaign?

Completing your AdGroup means that your AdGroup will reach its End Date.

  • Login to RollWorks and go to 'Advertising' > 'Campaigns & Playbooks' and click on the 'Campaigns' tab.
  • Find the campaign you want to pause and click 'Edit'
  • This will open the Campaign details page in edit mode.
  • Click on the AdGroup name you want to end
  • Go to '
  • Select today's date as the End Date
  • Click 'Save'

Setting up an End Date as today will cause the AdGroup to end today.

🚨  If you complete an AdGroup in a campaign with a single AdGroup the campaign will automatically end and be marked as completed.

 

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How can I increase my Campaign reach?

You can increase the size of your target audience by:

  • Including more Website Audiences, increasing your Audience Durations, and leveraging Contact Audiences to reconnect with people who haven’t visited your website recently. 
  • Use broad geo-targeting restrictions. We recommend setting up your geo-targeting no more granular than at the country or region level.
  • Include all of the recommended and supported Ad Sizes and Ad Types in your Campaign to expand your reach on available inventory. 
  • Increase your budget to align with the size of your target audience.

 

How do I optimize my Campaigns?

You can optimize your RollWorks Campaigns by:

  • Exclude your Conversion Audiences and exclude your existing Customers to prevent displaying ads to them. Click here to learn how to exclude Conversion Audiences from your Campaign.
  • Lowering your Audience Duration to impose a hard limit on how long a visitor remains active in a Website Audience. For example, if you know that your sales cycle is generally 10 days you can lower your Audience duration to 10 days.
  • Defining your geo-targets to focus your efforts on the regions that matter to ensure that ads are only served in specific high-value locations.

 

How do I troubleshoot a Campaign that is not serving ads?

Below is a list of steps to help you troubleshoot why Campaign is not serving ads:

Issue Troubleshooting steps
Your Campaign does not have active Ads

Double-check that your campaign has active ads assigned.

Your Campaign or Ad Groups are paused

Ensure that your Campaign, Ad Groups, and Ads are not marked as paused and have been launched. If your Campaign, Ad Groups, or Ads are set as 'paused' in the RollWorks platform you will have to unpause them first to resume serving ads.

Your Campaign, Ad Groups, or Ads are paused

Ensure that your Campaign, Ad Groups, and Ads are not marked as paused and have been launched. If your Campaign, Ad Groups, or Ads are set as 'paused' in the RollWorks platform you will have to unpause them first to resume serving ads.

Your Campaign or Ad Groups start date is set in the future

Confirm the start date of your Campaign and Ad Groups. If your Campaign or Ad Groups have a start date set to begin in the future, adjust the start date to begin immediately. 

Your Campaign or Ad Groups are marked as completed 

Confirm that your Campaign or Ad Groups are not marked as completed (reached the specified end date). If your campaign is marked or Ad Group is as completed and should be serving ads, edit your Campaign or Ad Group to set an end date that is in the future.

Your Campaign or Ad Groups are marked as suspended

Confirm that your Campaign or Ad Groups are not marked as suspended (this is typically due to a billing or content issue). If they are suspended reach out to the RollWorks Customer Support team.

Your website has recently changed

Confirm that your targeted Website Audiences are still collecting visitors. If your website has changed recently, the RollWorks Pixel or your website URLs could have been affected, which can cause your Website Audiences to zero after some time. 

Your website has low traffic

If your website has low traffic, we recommend targeting your 'All Visitors' Website Audience, at least to start. The more data we are able to collect initially about your visitors' behavior as they interact with your campaign, the more we'll be able to optimize for performance later.

Your target audience is too specific

If you are targeting a very specific Website Audience with your campaign, confirm that your target visitor audience has had enough time to grow and collect visitors. If no one has visited the specific URL used to set up your target audience, we won't have anyone to serve ads.

Your ability to focus your campaign depends on your site traffic. If your total audience size is between 1,000 - 10,000 monthly unique visitors (MUV), keep the scope of your campaign more general. We recommend running specific campaigns only if you have 10,000 or more MUV.

 

How do I exclude an Audience from a Campaign?

If you opt to exclude an Audience from a campaign RollWorks will not display ads to people in that Audience. You can exclude Website Audiences and Contact Audiences from a Campaign.

To exclude an existing Audience from a campaign in the RollWorks platform follow the steps below:

  • Go to 'Audiences'
  • Select 'Website Audiences' or 'Contact Audiences' depending on the type of campaign that you want to exclude.
  • Find the Audience you wish to exclude and click 'Audience Name'
  • Under 'Campaigns with Audience' find the Campaign you wish to edit
  • Toggle off 'Target' to 'Exclude' to exclude this Audience from the Campaign

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How do I pause a Campaign?

  • Login to RollWorks and go to 'Advertising > 'Campaigns & Playbooks'
  • Click the tab 'Campaigns'
  • Find the campaign you want to pause and click the Campaign Name.

pause 1.png

  • Click the drop-down arrow next to 'Edit'
  • Click 'Pause'

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When you pause a campaign, you are temporarily suspending that campaign's activity. You can resume the campaign by clicking Resume. Your campaign will then resume immediately.

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How do paused campaigns impact my budget?

Your required balance is the sum of your active campaign budgets.

Paused campaigns do count towards your required balance. This is so when you resume, we have the credit needed to immediately resume your campaign.

If you are on pre-paid billing style, you will notice a section called 'Required Balance' under Settings > Billing History.

 

 

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