How do I adjust the Optimization Strategy for my campaign?

What is the Optimization Strategy campaign setting?

Optimization Strategy is a RollWorks Campaign setting that allows you to specify a goal for an individual Campaign in RollWorks to determine how do you want to prioritize your bidding.

You can adjust this setting to optimize the goal set for your campaign based on:

  • Conversions: Target the people most likely to convert based on your Conversion Audiences.
  • Clicks: Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks.
  • Impressions: Maximize how many ads are shown.

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Once you have selected one of the three Optimization Strategies available, you can then select one of the following:

  • Leave it Automatic: We will automatically bid to maximize the goal you choose: Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions.
  • Specify a target: we'll optimize your bids based on the Target CPA, CPC or CPM you enter while treating your Target as an upper price-per-result not to exceed. However, it's possible that some Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions may exceed this target.

🚨  Restrictive CPA, CPC, or CPM targets can limit ad delivery.

If you are setting up a specific target as your Optimization Strategy we recommend that you gradually reduce your target by no more than 20% per edit. For example, if your campaign is currently achieving a $10 CPA and your goal is a $5 CPA, we recommend setting an $8 CPA target (80% of $10) and scaling down from there gradually rather than jumping directly to $5.

 

How do I adjust the Optimization Strategy for my campaign?

The default Optimization Strategy campaign setting will be 'maximize Conversions (CPA)' as long as you have already defined a Conversion Audience in RollWorks.

If you have not defined a Conversion Audience in RollWorks yet, the Optimization Strategy for your Campaign will default to maximize Clicks. 

If you want to adjust your Optimization Strategy for a campaign:

  • Login to RollWorks and go to 'Advertising' > 'Campaigns & Playbooks'
  • Click the 'Campaigns' tab
  • Find the campaign that you want to adjust and click on the campaign name
  • Click 'Edit'
  • Scroll down to 'Optimization Strategy'
  • Select one of the three Optimization Strategies available:
      • Conversions: Target the people most likely to convert based on your Conversion Audiences.
      • Clicks: Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks.
      • Impressions: Maximize how many ads are shown.
  • Select one of the following:

      • Leave it Automatic: We will automatically bid to maximize the goal you choose: Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions.
      • Specify a target: we'll optimize your bids based on the Target CPA, CPC or CPM you enter while treating your Target as an upper price-per-result not to exceed. However, it's possible that some Conversions, Clicks, or Impressions may exceed this target.
  • Click 'Save'
Optimization Strategy Type

How to set it up

Conversions: Target most likely people to convert.

Conversions with Automatic Target CPA

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If you choose 'Conversions' and leave the Target CPA blank as 'Automatic' we will automatically maximize conversions within your budget.

 

Conversions with a specific Target CPA

If you set a specific CPA, we will optimize to reach your target. The actual CPA may vary.

Your campaign must have achieved at least 7 conversions over the last 14 days in order to run your target CPA Optimization Strategy.

When you enter a specific target CPA as your Optimization Strategy, if your campaign is brand new or has not achieved 7 conversions over the last 14 days, your campaign will bid according to the Automatic mode until it meets this threshold.

Clicks: Focus on increasing traffic by maximizing clicks

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The Target Cost per Click (CPC) is tipically $1.00 - $5.00

If you choose 'Clicks' and leave the Target CPC blank as 'Automatic' we will automatically maximize clicks within your budget.

If you set a specific CPC, we will optimize to reach your target.

Note: actual CPC may vary

Impressions: Maximize how many times your ads are shown

IMPRESSIONS.png

The Target Cost per 1000 Impressions (CPM) is typically $2.50 - $6.50.

If you choose 'Impressions' and leave the Target CPM blank as 'Automatic' we will automatically maximize impressions within your budget.

If you set a specific CPM, we will optimize to reach your target

Note: actual CPM may vary

 

 

 

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